[1953 Cleveland Elementary-Junior High Flag Raising ]

Photograph of two members of local Boy Scout Troup raising a flag at the opening of Cleveland Elementary-Junior High School in 1953. A crowd of people is gathered to the right, one of whom holds a sign reading "Kiwanis Club". Principal E. D. Balch of this school and Cleveland ISD Superintendent Frank E. White stand in the bed of a truck to the left. This building would become Southside Elementary after a new high school was built in 1956, Junior High was moved to the previous high school building and Northside Elementary was already open in 1953.
Date: 1953
Creator: Young, Moon
System: The Portal to Texas History