4 Matching Results

Results open in a new window/tab.

Freshman picnic

Photograph of a group of male and female West Texas State Teachers College students and some adults posing in an outdoor setting, probably at Palo Duro Canyon. They are seated and standing on rock ledges with a hillside rising behind the group. Most of the women wear dresses and hats and most of the men wear coats and neckties.
Date: September 21, 1927
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[West Texas State Teachers College basketball team]

Photograph of the 1927 basketball team at West Texas State Teachers College in Canyon, Texas. Five team members and the coach are standing, with five other team members seated before them. Team members wear dark, long-sleeved jerseys with the word "Buffaloes" lettered on the chest, and long trousers. A player in the center of the front row is holding a basketball labeled "T. I. A. A. Champs '27." Individuals are identified on the verso: Front row: Elvis Ward, Oscar Gamel, Alex Hale, Clifford Keith, R. G. Newman. Top row: Delbert Lowes, Leon Reeves, Guy Fuller, Ben Pearson, Jim Stringer, S. D. Burton (coach).
Date: 1927
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Childress, Texas school]

Photograph of Childress, Texas school building. The two-story brick building features decorative brick work above the second floor windows. The entryway is in the projecting center section of the facade which is topped by a crenelated parapet. Several small trees stand in front of the building. The architect for the building was Guy A. Carlander.
Date: January 1927
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

B. M. Baker School, Pampa, Texas

Photograph of the B. M. Baker School in Pampa, Texas. The front facade and one side of the building are visible. The building is constructed of brick and has a concrete walkway around the front and side of the building. Two automobiles are parked on a dirt street in front of the school. Three children are visible; one out at the concrete walkway and two at the open front doors of the building.
Date: 1927~
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History