3,118 Matching Results

Results open in a new window/tab.

Cleburne's 1896 Railroad House

Photograph of Cleburne's 1896 Railroad House. It is a red building with a green painted stripe around the type. There is a sign for the Railroad Museum in the window.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Cleburne Railroad Depot

Photograph of Cleburne's Railroad Depot. It is a small red brick building with a green roof.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

The Parish Church of the Holy Comforter, Cleburne

The Parish Church of the Holy Comforter, Cleburne, established 1877.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

The Parish Church of the Holy Comforter, Cleburne, doorway detail

The Parish Church of the Holy Comforter, Cleburne, doorway detail. Church established 1877.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

The Layland Museum

Photograph of the Layland Museum building in Cleburne, Texas. It is housed in the 1904 Carnegie Library.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Johnson County Courthouse

Photograph of the Johnson County Courthouse, while under renovation.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Johnson County Courthouse, tower detail

Photograph of the tower on top of the Johnson County Courthouse.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Sante Fe Caboose at the Layland Museum, Cleburne

Sante Fe Caboose at the Layland Museum, Cleburne. ATSF 999457.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Historic Plaque, Site of Old Picnic Grounds

Photograph of a historic plaque in Cleburne, Texas. It reads: "Site of Old Picnic Grounds. Had wood, water, was used after 1854 start of Camp Henderson (named for land owner-townsite donor) for decisive public meetings. In 1867 Camp Henderson became county seat. Then men at 4th of July picnic here named town "Cleburne", for Civil War Commander of many local veterans. (1966)"
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

The Layland Museum, doorway detail

Photograph of the doorway to the Layland Museum. The name of the museum is written above the door, and its hours of operation are painted on the glass of the right door.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Historic Plaque, Carnegie Library Building

Photograph of a historic plaque. It reads: "Carnegie Library Building. A Cleburne Public Library was begun in 1901 under the direction of the local women's club. In 1902 members of the organization met with New York industrialist and benefactor Andrew S. Carnegie to secure funds for a building. His gift was matched by local contributions and this structure was completed in 1905. Featuring details of the Beaux Arts and Classical Revival styles and a second floor theater, it housed the library until 1978. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1981."
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Johnson County Courthouse

Photograph of the Johnson County Courthouse in Cleburne, Texas. There is a clock tower on the roof, and cars are parked in front of the building.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Bosque County Courthouse

Photograph of the Bosque County Courthouse, undergoing a complete restoration. Constructed in 1886 by architect J. J. Cane of Fort Worth, this image represents the building's structure as it existed from 1935 to 2007. The courthouse originally had a gothic tower and small turrets which were dismantled in 1935, and subsequently rebuilt in 2007.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

B. F. Word, Attorney at Law, in 1916 building, Meridian

Photograph of a building in Meridian. The sign above it reads "B. F. Word, Attorney at Law." There is another sign with the year 1916 on it. Above the doorway, a sign declares the current resident to be Dr. Ed Williamson, Dentist. A white van is parked on the far left side of the photo.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Bosque County Tax building

Photograph of the Bosque County Tax building, a two story building. The first story is built of stone, and the second of red brick.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Memorial Library, Meridian

Photograph of the Memorial Library in Meridian, Texas. It is currently in use as a Senior Center.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Chisholm Trail Trad'in Post, mural in Meridian

Photograph of a Chisholm Trail Trad'in Post mural in Meridian, Texas. The mural shows two cowboys on horseback leading a cow.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Meridian Public Library

Photograph of the exterior of the Meridian Public Library.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Meridian Public Library, safe in work area

Photograph of a safe in the Meridian Public Library. The safe door says "Tom Hall's Safe Co. Cincinnati O."
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Hamilton County Courthouse

Photograph of the Hamilton County Courthouse. It was constructed in 1886, by architects Mason, Martin, Byrnes and Johnston. A 1931 remodel removed the clock tower and Second Empire style mansard roof.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Historic Plaque, Hamilton County Courthouse

Photograph of a historic marker. It reads: "Hamilton County Courthouse. Before era of this impressive courthouse, Hamilton County's government was housed in stores, a rustic school, a former livery stable, a 2-story building with top floor especially designed for a courtroom, and briefly in a saloon. Fire razed two of the early improvised courthouses. First permanent one built in 1878, also burned in 1886. In those days outlaws were so numerous that guards were hired to protect visiting judges. This 1887 structure of native limestone, quarried 2 miles east of Hamilton, remained unchanged until it was remodeled in 1931. (1970)"
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Ann Whitney Memorial

Photograph of a memorial for Ann Whitney. It says, "In Memory of Ann Whitney. Born in Massachusetts about 1835, massacred by Comanche Indians, July 9, 1867 while protecting her pupils. Miss Whitney's grave is located 5 blocks north in the Graves-Gentry Cemetery. School was located 7 miles northeast of Hamilton on the Juan de la Garza Survey. Sponsored by Hamilton Kiwanis Club, 1858. Donated by Riley-Gardner Memorial Service Co.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Historic Plaque, Elise Waerenskjold

Photograph of a historic plaque in Hamilton, Texas. It reads: "Elise Waerenskjold, (Home 3 blocks W; Grave 6 Blocks NW). Influential early promoter of Norwegian Emigration to Texas: Born Elise Tvede in 1815. In 1846, after John Reiersen migrated to Texas to found the first Norwegian settlement in the state, she became editor of his periodical "Norway and Texas". Through her articles, many were inspired to move here. In 1847 she, too, moved to Texas, and resided in both Van Zandt County and Hamilton County. She married Wilhelm Waerenskjold. Often they welcomed grateful newcomers into their home. Here she helped preserve the history of her people. Died 1895. (1968)"
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History

Hamilton County Courthouse, detail

Photograph of the windows at the Hamilton County Courthouse. It was constructed in 1886, by architects Mason, Martin, Byrnes and Johnston. A 1931 remodel removed the clock tower and Second Empire style mansard roof.
Date: March 1, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Object Type: Photograph
System: The Portal to Texas History