Resource Type

5,073 Matching Results

Results open in a new window/tab.

[School Photograph, 1912]

School photograph featuring a woman with children posed in front of a brick building. More children can be seen in the window behind the group to the left. Jim Goin sits third from left, and Lillian Goin is second from the right in the front.
Date: April 29, 1912
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Morning After Tornado]

Photograph of storm-damaged buildings. In the foreground are pedestrians, riders, wagons, carriages, horses, and mules. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Main Street after the Tornado]

Photograph of buildings damaged by a tornado. The destroyed structure was the carriage building for Grey's Furniture and the undertaker. The house next to it belonged to the Ratchford family. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Ruins of Methodist Church]

Photograph of the ruins of a Methodist church in Aubrey after a tornado. Houses, including the home of Dr. Bate, are visible in the background, and there is a great deal of debris on the ground.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: Parsons, Randy
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Ruins of Christian Church]

Photograph of the building of Christian Church in Aubrey, which has been flattened. The steeple remains upright, but the roof is resting on the ground. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Ruins of Christian Church on Main Street]

Photograph of a flattened church building. The steeple remains upright, but the roof is resting on the ground. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[House With Storm Debris, 1918]

Photograph of a frame house with brick debris on the roof and in the yard. In the foreground, textiles dry on a clothesline. In the background, a woman stands beyond the corner of the house. Built before 1885, this house was the home of Wood Goin in the early twentieth century. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 14, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Main Street after the Tornado, 1918]

Photograph of buildings damaged by a tornado. The destroyed structure was the carriage building for Grey's Furniture and the undertaker. It has been turned upside down by a tornado that had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 14, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Morning After Tornado]

Photograph of pedestrians and passengers in horse-drawn carriages and wagons viewing storm damage. Mullins Hotel is visible in the background on the left. The depot is in the upper right. The lumberyard, rolls of barbed wire, and the hardware store are all visible. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: Jones, Ed
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Storm Debris Next to Log House]

Photograph of debris scattered around a log house. A person stands in the wreckage, in front of a tree. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Storm Debris and Donkey]

Photograph of storm debris facing south. On the left a donkey is visible. Buildings at the center back survived the storm and continued to be used. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Musgrove Home, 1918]

Photograph of a two-story house surrounded by trees. Damage to the fence and the second floor porch is evident. Storm debris is visible in the foreground. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[McCarson House After 1918 Tornado]

Photograph of the ruins of the McCarson house following a tornado in 1918. Two men work on the damaged roof of the house, while another man stands in the yard. Three automobiles are parked in front of the house, and a horse is tethered to a fence in the background.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Storm Debris, 1918]

Photograph of storm debris, with two houses in the background. The house on the right was owned by Granny Mullins. The house on the left was owned by Wesley and Axia Housden. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Storm Debris and Chairs]

Photograph of two men standing in the middle of a debris field, with wrecked buildings visible behind them. Two chairs and a damaged brick wall are in front of them. A tornado had touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[McCarson House After 1918 Tornado]

Photograph of a house with a damaged roof, surrounded by debris. Part of a windmill is visible in the foreground. A tornado touched Aubrey and many other North Texas communities on the evening of April 14, 1918.
Date: April 15, 1918
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Men at Trailer Camp]

Photograph of six smiling men, identified as Ted Emmons, Lewis Ashby, Jim Goin, Joe Ashcraft, a cousin to the Ashcrafts, and Earl Ashcraft. The building behind them is labeled "Jim Goin Trailer camp." Cabins and trees are visible in the background. The trailer camp was located at 2804 N. Elm Street in Denton, Texas.
Date: April 15, 1958
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Sheriff's Department group photo, taken on side of FBC jail]

Copy print of Sheriff's Department group photo, taken on side of Fort Bend County Jail, Richmond, on April 5, 1941. First Row: Rue Lincecum, Rusk Roane; Second Row: Fred Zwahr, Zora Dell Woolley, Slim Barta, Charles Smith, Paul Wenzel, Ed Battle, Jim Cortez. The two men in the front row on sitting on the back of their heels. See 1999.004.011 for more identification.
Date: April 5, 1941
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Sheriff's Department group photo, taken on steps of FBC jail]

Copy print of Sheriff's Department group photo, taken on steps of Fort Bend County Jail, Richmond, on April 5, 1941. First Row: Zora Dell Woolley (Office Deputy), Rusk Roane (Sheriff); Second Row:Rue Lincecum (Patrolman), Charles Smith (Cook/jailer), Ed Battle (Stafford Deputy); Third Row: Fred Zwahr, Slim Barta, Paul Wenzel, Jim Cortez (Deputies).
Date: April 5, 1941
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Rosenberg Public School]

Obverse: Photograph of Rosenberg Public School Tex., E.W. Cumins Drugs, Lillie & Ella April 27, 1907 written in ink; reverse: POST CARD, Charles E. Myers in ink. The school building is a white, wooden, two story building with enclosed addition above the front porch. The school is enclosed by a wooden fence.
Date: April 27, 1907
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Fort Bend County Courthouse under construction]

Photograph of Fort Bend County Courthouse Annex. Photo taken as a publicity shot for the Suburbia Newspaper. Building under construction. Large newly budding trees obstruct complete view of the building. A tin building can be seen on the right of the photograph. Building is surrounded by a construction wire fence. Street in foreground.
Date: April 1979
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[Panhandle Dust Storm]

Photograph of a Panhandle dust storm approaching Perryton, Texas, on April 14, 1935.
Date: April 14, 1935
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History

[920 W. Swanitz - Lincoln School]

Photograph of the front and side of the "Lincoln School" located at 920 W. Swanitz in Palestine, Texas, taken from the northwest corner. It is a two-story brick building that served as a school for African-American students from 1923 until integration in Palestine during 1965. This building was demolished after a 1999 fire. A sign on the corner says: "Anderson County Community Council community Center, 723-5101, Our One Constant: Service to Humanity."
Date: April 1991
Creator: Emrich, Ron
System: The Portal to Texas History

[1215 Anacapa St. - Santa Barbara, CA.]

(back of photo) Side of 1215 Anacapa St. 1946 - W.S.B. purchased it for $14,500. The date I purchased this property spent about $3,000.00 on it for paint and improvements. Photo is from the William Blackshear collection, which was donated to the Palestine Public Library.
Date: April 12, 1946
Creator: unknown
System: The Portal to Texas History