Resource Type

Old San Jose Mission, San Angelo

Old San Jose Mission in San Angelo. This replica was built by St. Joseph's parishioners in the 1950s.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Old San Jose Mission, San Angelo

San Jose Mission in San Angelo. This replica was built by parishioners in the 1950s.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Old San Jose Mission, San Angelo

Old San Jose Mission in San Angelo. This replica was built by parishioners in the 1950s.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts

The San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts with a roofline created to resemble a Conestoga wagon. Designed by Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Architects and opened in 1999.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Sante Fe Depot, San Angelo

Sante Fe train depot, San Angelo.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Sante Fe Depot, San Angelo

Sante Fe train depot in San Angelo
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts

The San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts with a roofline created to resemble a Conestoga wagon. Designed by Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Architects and opened in 1999.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Atchison Topeka & Santa Fe Railway (A.T.S.F.) Wooden Baggage Cart

Photograph of an Atchison Topeka & Santa Fe Railway (A.T.S.F.) green wooden baggage cart. It's wheels and handles are rusty. It is located at the Railway Museum of San Angelo.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Tom Green County Courthouse, detail of facade and building engraving

Tom Green County Courthouse, detail of facade and building engraving
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Tom Green County, historic plaque

Historic plaque. "Original Tom Green County on transcontinental trail of California Gold Rush. Until 1846 a part of Bexar Land District, Republic of Texas. Private tracts were surveyed as early as 1847. German emigration company colony (90 mi. SE) had grants here, but in 1840s found Indians blocking settlement. Butterland Overland Mail managers lived in stands in area, 1858-61. R. F. Tankersley family established a permanent home in 1864 in future Tom Green County. By 1874 there were five settlements here, including Bismarck Farm, a colony of 15 German immigrants. The County (12,756 sq. mi., 10 1/2 times as large as state of Rhode Island) was created in 1874, and named for heroic Gen. Green (1814-64), a state official and gallant Texas soldier. After a decade of progress, the original Tom Green County began losing outlying areas. Midland County - halfway between Fort Worth and El Paso on newly opened Texas & Pacific Railway - was created in 1885. Settlers remote from San Angelo petitioned for new counties in 1887, and the Texas Legislature created Crane, Loving, Upton, Ward adn Winkler. Coke and Irion Counties were cut out of Tom Green in 1889. Ector and Sterling were created in 1891. …
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

George Julien Bird Memorial Fountain, detail

Close-up view of flower and lily pads at the George Julien Bird Memorial Fountain, on the grounds of the Tom Green County Courthouse grounds.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

George Julien Bird Memorial Fountain, Tom Green County

Photograph of the George Julien Bird Memorial Fountain, on the Tom Green County Courthouse grounds.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Cactus Hotel Ballroom, detail of ceiling

Close-up view of the ceiling of the ballroom of the Cactus Hotel. There is a painting of a lake scene above both the air vents. This hotel was the fourth one built by Conrad Hilton, constructed in 1929.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Cactus Hotel Ballroom, detail of chandelier

Close-up view of a chandelier in the ballroom of the Cactus Hotel. This was the fourth hotel built by Conrad Hilton, constructed in 1929.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Cactus Hotel, Ballroom

Photograph of the ballroom of the Cactus Hotel. Two chandeliers hang from the ceiling. The room is reflected in two sectioned mirrors at the end of the hall. The floor is wooden. There is a man standing in the doorway to the right. This building was the fourth hotel built by Conrad Hilton, constructed in 1929.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Cactus Hotel, Ballroom

Photograph of the ballroom of the Cactus Hotel. Four chandeliers hang from the ceiling. The room is reflected in two sectioned mirrors at the end of the hall. The floor is wooden. This building was the fourth hotel built by Conrad Hilton, constructed in 1929.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Veterans Memorial, Tom Green County

Veterans Memorial, Tom Green County, erected 1967.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Tom Green County Courthouse

Tom Green County Courthouse
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History

Cactus Hotel, lobby

Photograph of the ornate lobby of the Cactus Hotel. The front of the concierge's desk on the left side is decorated with tan, green, and blue tiles. The stairs leading up to the rooms is visible on the right side of the photo. This was the fourth hotel built by Conrad Hilton, constructed in 1929.
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
System: The Portal to Texas History